Town Government

The Town of Washington is served by several elected officials including the Town Supervisor, four elected Town Board members, the Town Clerk, two Town Justices and the Highway Superintendent.  Local elections are held in November of odd numbered years, with officials terms of office beginning on January 1st for a four year period.  If an elected official resigns mid-term, an election is held the following November to fill the unexpired term of office.

Town Board:

Supervisor Gary Ciferri

The Town Supervisor is the presiding officer at Town Board meetings and has an equal vote in all matters coming before the Town Board.  The Supervisor is the treasurer of the town, and generally represents the town in all financial matters.

Town Council:

  • Stephen Turletes (Deputy Supervisor)
  • Robert Audia
  • Michael Murphy 
  • Al De Bonis

The Town Board is comprised of the Supervisor and four council members, who are all elected for a four year term.  The Town Board is the governing and legislative body of the Town. It determines policy and is the branch of government that appropriates funds and adopts the annual Budget of the Town.  Some additional Town Board responsibilities include:

  • Adopt amendments to the Town Code
  • Fill appointive positions
  • Require all Town employees to perform their duties faithfully.
  • Appoint & supervise all Boards, Council & Committees
  • Award contracts for public works and purchase contracts requiring competitive bids
  • Directs and supervisors all department heads and managers.

Town Board Meetings require the presence of a majority of the Town Board which constitutes a quorum for the transaction of official business (3 people). Each member of the Board, including the Supervisor, has one vote. A resolution of law is carried by the affirmative vote of the majority of the Board.

The Board meets on the 2nd Thursday of the month at 7:00 PM.  All town board meetings are held at the Town Hall and are open to the public.

2017 Town Board Minutes:

January 3, 2017                TB March 9 2017

January 12, 2017               Attachments to the March 9 Meeting        TB May 11 2017


2016 Town Board Meeting Dates & Minutes

January 4, 2016  Jan 4 Reorg Minutes

January 4, 2016  January 14

February 11, 2016

Feb 11 Minutes

March 10, 2016

March 10, 2016

April 14, 2016

April 14 2016

May 12, 2016

May 12, 2016 Minutes

June 9, 2016

June 9 Minutes

July 14, 2016

July 14 2016

August 11, 2016


September 8, 2016


September 21 Special Meeting sept-21-2016-minutes

October 13,2016 Meeting November 10, 2016 December 8, 2016


 Town Board Minutes

Town Clerk Mary Alex

The office of the Town Clerk is the hub around which Town business revolves. The Town Clerk, elected every four years, serves as the Tax Collector, licensing agent and the Records Management Officer of the Town. Custodian of all the records, the Clerk is responsible for active files, disposition of inactive records and protection of the archives. As Secretary to the Town Board, the Clerk is responsible for preparing and maintaining the minutes of Town Board meetings. Freedom of Information Law (FOIL) requests are administered by this office.   The Town Clerk also serves as the Registrar of Vital Statistics.  In the Town of Washington, the Town Clerk maintains the Town website and is responsible for a variety of personnel matters.

Town Court:

  • Justice Elizabeth Shequine
  • Justice Jeff Feigelson

The Town Court plays a vital role in the New York State Unified Court System. These courts have broad jurisdiction and they hear both civil and criminal matters.  Justices are required to be on-call 24 hours a day and are often called upon to arraign misdemeanor and felony charges. In cases involving domestic violence, the judges are also authorized to issue orders of protection.  Town Court is held on Tuesdays, at 5:00 PM, exclusive of the first Tuesday of the month.

Highway Superintendent Joseph Spagnola

The Superintendent of Highways is responsible for the over-site and work performed by the highway crew.  The department is charged with the maintenance and repair of town roads and bridges, and the removal of obstructions such as brush and snow.  The Highway Superintendent responsibilities include interfacing with other departments, maintenance and upkeep of the vehicle fleet, highway garage and the transfer station.

Planning Board

The Planning Board, consisting of 7 volunteers, is charged with administering land use regulations and land subdivision for the orderly, efficient and economical development of the Town.

Planning Board Members:

  • Paul Schwartz – Chairman
  • Buffy Arbogast – Member
  • Donald Hanson – Member
  • Edvard Jorgenson – Member
  • James Cornell – Member
  • Robert Kulpa – Member
  • James Shequine – Member
  • Nikki Caul – Secretary
  • The Planning Board meets the 1st Tuesday of each month at 7:30 pm.

Planning Board Minutes

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals, also a volunteer board, hears and decides on appeals, decision and determination made by the Building Inspector. The board is empowered to review applications made for an area variance or a use variance on a particular piece of property.

Zoning Board of Appeals Members:

  • John Parisi – Chairman
  • Peter Audia – Member
  • Fletcher Coddington – Member
  • Ken Holzberg – Member
  • Frank Redl – Member
  • Nikki Caul – Secretary

The Zoning Board of Appeals meets the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 7:30 pm.

Zoning Board of Appeals Minutes

Board of Assessment Review

The Board of Assessment Review(BAR) is a lay body of citizens who live in the town or municipality. Their purpose is to listen to the grievances of property owners and possibly make changes in the assessments.

Board of Assessment Review Members:

  • Donald Fegan
  • Jeff Feigelson
  • Ronald Galente
  • Charles Leven
  • Dianne McNeil

The Board of Assessment Review meets the 4th Tuesday in May.

Board of Assessment Review Minutes

Conservation Advisory Commission

The Conservation Advisory Commission is tasked with advising the Town Board on matters effecting the conservation of natural resources within the Town.

Conservation Advisory Commission Members:

  • David Greenwood – Chair
  • John Asklidsen
  • Walter Jacob
  • Timothy Marshall
  • Howard Schuman

The CAC meets the first Wednesday.